FOWChallenge-Screw

~~~~~

screw

a short, slender, sharp-pointed metal pin

with a raised helical thread running round it

and a slotted head, used to join things together

by being rotated so that it pierces wood

or other material and is held tightly in place

****

The most frustrating thing about screws, bolts, nails etc.

is that I usually only want half a dozen…perhaps

only one or two.

So off to the hardware store I trot and always

come home with 20, 50 or 100.

If  you have not experienced this you

may well be asking why?

The answer is that all companies making screws,

nearly without fail,

package them in those quantities.

That’s okay!

They will come in handy one day.

And so the 19, 39, or 99 are put in a tin

for easy retrieval when they will be handy.

The thing is that after a few weeks I have usually

forgotten where they live and so it’s back to step one.

I am sure there must be thousands upon thousands

of old screws sitting in Australian sheds just waiting

to be discovered on that handy day.

Trouble is most have been in the shed for so long

they look like the larger of the two screwdrivers. 

RUSTY!

I haven’t the heart to tell these old screws

they are past their use by date.   

Of course I should not be grumbling

because a screw is a screw. 

What you buy is what you get!

What really bugs me is when I

want a few nuts, bolts

and washers and said hardware store

sells them all separately.   

Who would ever buy a nut

without a bolt? 

Or a bolt without a nut?

~~~~~

Fandango’s One Word Challenge:…Screw