Weekly Photo Challenge-Creepy

 

~~~~~

My contribution for this week’s challenge…

Creepy

~~~~~

When I read that Creepy was this week’s theme…

spidera_0071the first photo I though of was this.

Arachnids and reptiles do give me the creeps.

 fort_nepean_0036Then inspired by MyThoughtsThrough the Lens I thought of

this series of photos taken at Fort Nepean on Port Phillip Bay.

fort_nepean_0038

My Grandfather was part of the gun crew which fired

the First Shot of World War I.

During his time at the fort he would have

been moving around these tunnels,

in the cold and dark,

save for candle light.

fort_nepean_0039knowing that at any moment,

if instructions were not followed,

he or some else,

may accidentally bring their candle flame

into contact with gunpowder.

 

 

NOW….if you did not think my first photo all that creepy,

my last may have the desired effect…
spider_0071It did with MGW when she looked round the corner

at my monitor to see what I was doing!!! 😀

Apologies for my Photoshop skills, or lack thereof.

~~~~~

~~~~~

21 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge-Creepy

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge-Creepy | Donna's Blog

  2. Spiders, especially when popping up unexpectedly, can certainly be creepy. I think those tunnels at night, during war, would definitely be creepy as would have been the trenches on the European front in that same war.

    janet

    Like

    • Thank you re PS and I agree with your spooky comment. Number 2 came home worried that Korea was agitated a few years back. I looked at him and said…’both of you are just the right age…’ Of course he had no idea to what I was referring…and was not at all happy when I explained it to him.

      Like

  3. We live near the forest. You just have to accept these creatures. Of course, here in Germany they are not dangerous or poisonous. I feel more creepy by these WW bunkers. Imagine people living in there for weeks!

    Like

    • This spider is probably not that poisonous, however we do have some dangerous spiders and I don’t like any of them. Agree…regarding the bunkers. I just wish a country’s leaders, the ones who order men and women to War, would sit down round a table and argue it out until a solution is arrived. A much better choice than sacrificing millions of innocent lives.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Photo Challenge; Creepy | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a comment