Lemons-HomeGrown

In Victoria, we are in the middle of our school winter holiday break which usually means a trip to the nursery to purchase replacement, or new, plants for our garden.

And so it was yesterday….which led to ‘planting Monday’. Planting gives me time to get ‘up close and personal’ with our garden and this morning I became very excited with prospects for future posts.

Lemon_1865a

With trusty camera in hand garden photos were on the agenda late this afternoon. I was not planning to include our little lemon tree, but seeing several lemons with late afternoon sun streaming in on them…well I could not resist.

~~~~~

Lemon_1926c

I can assure you that this lemon was a yummy addition to my evening meal. My family think I am crazy because I eat the whole lemon!

~~~~~

LemonBud_1931d

Looks like there are more on the way.

~~~~~

6 thoughts on “Lemons-HomeGrown

  1. Ooh, now to add to the polytunnel envy re The Garden of Eve’s blog, now I have lemon envy.
    The smell of fresh lemons must be blissful. Are the leaves scented too when you rub them as with oranges? And what about the blossom – does that smell lovely as well? And these grow in winter?

    Like

    • Hi Tish, I hope that the link included is the Garden of Eve blog (http://gardenofyvonne.wordpress.com/2013/07/03/polytunnel-update-june-2013-in-the-garden-of-eve/). I will look into it further in the morning. Had not heard of the term ‘polytunnel’ before, but thank goodness for Google. Being a mere male I have not taken notice of leaf scents…..another thing to check. These are pot grown trees….one of each, lemon and orange, and yes there are more lemons to come. There is one orange left on the tree. both trees are young and are facing the north west hence afternoon setting sun, on our verandah…so no poly tunnel. It’s a tough climate here…very hot, with hot northerly winds in summer and very cold in winter…by our standards. Plants have to be tough.

      Like

      • Yes, that’s the link to Eve. I guess a polytunnel covered with plastic would get too hot in your climate, but you can get mesh that would provide shelter for growing in bad weather and not get too hot. You can get small ones that cover a raised bed, or blooming great big ones like Yvonne’s.

        Like

      • Hi Tish, I did go smelling leaves today…..no scent, then my dearest tells me that I could have crushed the leaves…..so the research will continue…! Poly tunnels…I have seen the large and small versions….but never have heard them referred to as poly tunnels before. More on smelly leaves later!

        Like

Leave a comment