Weekly Photo Challenge-On-The-Way

~~~~~

My contribution for this week’s challenge…

On the Way

~~~~~

On January 4th, 2013 I drove Victoria’s

Great Ocean Road

with some Canadian friends

Great-Ocean_Road_1193We were heading west to Lochard Gorge and had

been on the road for half an hour

before we arrived here.
Loch Ard Gorge_1238aBy the time we arrived at Loch Ard Gorge…

some 6 hours later…

the temperature was around 44 degrees Celsius

and the bitumen in the car park was melting

under the weight of tourist traffic.
Loch Ard Gorge_1241a

Note, everyone is hugging the shadows.

I have been down in the Gorge many times…

but that day was the first time

I wished I had not done so.

The heat was stifling.

Fortunately the return trip, via an inland highway

was only about two hours.
antarctica_2

At the other end of the temperature gauge,

we sighted the Antarctica ice pack

while travelling to Africa last year

you-yangs_0065Yesterday, Friday, I decided to take a photographic drive

around the outskirts of Geelong.

At one stage I was one the way to the You Yangs,

but decided to leave the trip for another day.

pigeon_0095I had an appointment in Geelong and was early.

I noticed this pigeon on a vacant lot across the road…

pigeon_0100thoroughly searching the landscape

before swooping down for lunch and…

pigeon_0098becoming almost invisible among the weeds.

pelican_0067Finally, I found Percy who was almost preened

for a night out on the town.

 ~~~~~

 

~~~~~

20 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge-On-The-Way

  1. Pingback: Some oomph along the way! | Kick-Ass Ireland!

  2. Pingback: Some oomph along the way! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  3. Pingback: Some oomph along the way! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: ON THE WAY | The Adventures of Iñigo Boy

  5. Pingback: Photo Challenge; On the Way | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a comment