Jo’s-Monday-Walk-Wk18_ANZAC_DAY2

~~~~~

Jo’s Monday Walk

Wk-18

ANZAC DAY 2017

Ballarat  

Although ANZAC Day was last week I felt two shorter posts more appropriate, if for no other reason than last week we were in the centre of Ballarat.  

This week, on the outer edges, or at least away from the CBD and with a different focus…slightly.

Last week we finished our walk…

with a long shot of Ballarat’s Arch of Victory

which is the beginning of the Avenue of Honour.

A roundabout situated just in front of the Arch

makes for an ideal place to take a shot of Sturt Street.

Ballarat’s Central Business District is

several kilometres distant.

Just to the left of this image is…

the Roll of Honour where all those who enlisted from…

the Ballarat area have their name inscribed on the wall

or on the plinth under the Dome.

I suspect that it is World War I Service men and women

names listed on the plinth.

Just across the road from the Roll of Honour is the new…

Garden of the Grieving Mother.

This was to be opened to the public the day after my visit.

commences where I thought it ended…

at the Arch of Victory.

 

Some of the latter photos appear to contain a purplish tinge

which I have tried to remove.  

I must learn not to fiddle with settings too much! 

~~~~~

walking-logo

Jo’s Monday Walk