Weekly Photo Challenge-Ornate

~~~~~

My contribution for this week’s challenge…

Ornate

~~~~~

I think ‘ornate’ is in the eye of the beholder.
stained-glass_1534For example the craftsmanship which has gone into

creating these stain glass windows is something

we would be unlikely to see today,

and yet at the time of creation was probably

not considered outstanding.

arcade_0518This skylight in one of Melbourne’s Arcades is not ornate…
arcade_0511but I think the wrought iron work is.

grid-tiles_0513

And immediately below the skylight is what reminds me of…arcade_0517

the Roman Tessellated Pavement in one of

Canterbury’s (U.K.) main streets…from memory.

Gog-Magog_0020Back in Melbourne we have the Royal Arcade

with Gog and Magog

keeping visitors aware of time as it passes.

Again I think the seven-foot high effigies are ornate

as is the Victorian Era Arcade,

which has been listed on the

Victorian Heritage Register.

~~~~~

~~~~~

14 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge-Ornate

  1. First of all … for linking up with my post. I totally agree with you that ornate is the eye of the beholder. I like you iron shot too … because I have done a shot of the eiffel tower in the same way .. and I think it’s one of my best shots and of course I should have used it in my gallery. Maybe I should add. Personal I find iron works like lace. Have a great weekend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

