Cee-Black-White-Wheels

~~~~~

Cee’s Black and White Challenge:

Wheels.

~~~~~

 A selection of wheels…

wheel_0015bwIndian motorbike.

wheel_0016bwAbout a mid 1970s Holden Kingswood wheel on a

GTS model…read ‘souped up’…bigger engine etc.

wheel_0018bwThe Torana was a small car of the 1960s and early 1970s.

This one was probably the model after my first Torana.

If you have ever seen the Bathurst 500 (miles), now 1000 (km),

car race you will know that this little car won

many of the 60s and 70s races at Bathurst, NSW.

DSC_0426A 2014 VF Holden Commodore wheel.

car_0234a

I have enlarge this image so that I could read the badge on the front

of this car.

Although I have not seen this one in action,

I now believe it a USA car, but built in Germany.

It is an amphibious car and was made in the early to mid 60s.

Google ‘ampficar’

The Wikipedia article complete with images

Its bright red paint attracted me.

Red cars go 5% faster in Australia…

don’t know about other parts of the world 🙂

DSC_0433

Another 2014 VF Holden Commodore wheel.

DSC_0428

I am also calling this a wheel…it belongs to

General Motors Holden

an Australian made car…only for the nest few years though.

 ~~~~~

Cee’s Black & White: Wheels

Black_White

~~~~~

 

~~~~~

12 thoughts on “Cee-Black-White-Wheels

  1. I’ve never see a car like the one you think might be from the US, but I agree that red cars often go faster than other ones…and the highway patrol notices it, too. My dad had an Indian motorcycle when he was growing up, so I enjoyed that in particular.

    janet

    Like

    • I thought it was left hand drive, not so sure this morning. The fins on it date back to some fifties style cars and I put two two together and apparently came up with 🙂 Like you I have never seen it preciosity either.

      Hi Janet,
      I have just looked at photo again and Googled ‘ampficar’ (badge on car). Seems like Wikipedia has the answers. Not a US vehicle but a Product of Germany. And my guess work on the its date of manufacture was not far off. 🙂 However, your were correct….and I was not correct….again. :_( Just MGW is not around at the moment 🙂 Thank you.

      Amphicar – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
      en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amphicar
      The Amphicar Model 770 is an amphibious automobile, the first such vehicle mass-produced for sale to the public starting in 1961. The German vehicle was …
      ‎Product description (1966 … – ‎Performance – ‎Amphicar adventures – ‎History

      Like

Leave a comment