FriendlyFriday-While-Walking

~~~~~

~~~~~

I have taken some license regarding the word walking this week.

I have combined riding a lawn mower and walking.

Last Friday afternoon I was cutting the grass

in front of our house when, about 50 metres away,

I noticed a Spur Winged Plover (Masked Lapwing)

which appeared to be sitting on a nest.

It was nesting and had two eggs which were

sitting on a bare piece of ground.

A most inhospitable place to bring

two offspring into the world.

Remaining two to three metres away

I cut a circle around the nest and hoped

Mrs Plover would return.

Which she did.

 

 

Come Saturday afternoon and not only

was there an extra egg in the nest,

there had also been some home decorating done.

The newly mown grass had been gathered

and wrapped around the eggs,

making the nest look more like a nest.

~~~~~

FriendlyFriday:…While-Walking

Amanda                       Sandi

Leave a comment