Armistice Day 2014

I make no apology for re-posting last year’s Armistice Day post.

~~~~~

At the eleventh hour,

of the eleventh day,

of the eleventh month,

we shall remember them

“Lest We Forget”

Bill_2

Back in August, 2014, we remembered the firing of the First Allied Shot of World War 1

at a ceremony attended by nearly 1,000 people,

representatives of nearly twenty countries as well as electronic media,

which, it was said, broadcast the ceremony world-wide.

Why do I mention this event?

First my Grandfather was part of the gun crew which fired that shot

and second the shot was fired from Fort Nepean,

located on the eastern side of Port Philip Heads…the entry to Port Philip Bay…

Point_Nepean

which is only a short drive from Geelong and a 40 minute ferry ride these days.

 

~~~~~

November 11, 2013

Billnmw2

Yesterday I read another blog, which stated that we are at a stage where there is no-one left who remembers losing a friend or relative in the Great War.  However, there must be countless people in their sixties who don’t remember, or barely remember their grandparents or who have a photo such as this.  My grandfather passed away, at the ‘ripe old age of 64’ (I am 62), a week after this photo was taken.  I hope I have more than two years left in me.

Although no-one has ever mentioned it, I often wonder just how much the gas used in World War 1 cut short his life.

My other grandfather, minus a leg, is said to have wept upon hearing of the declaration of World War 2.  He passed away in August 1940.

A few months ago our younger son expressed concern when world peace was looking shaky as tension was building between some countries.  I agreed and also added that he was ‘the right age’.  He looked surprised and had to explain that I was talking about conscription and being dragged into a war against your will.  He had not thought of that.  Many young people are going about their every day life and have little or no knowledge of conscription and I pray that they do not have that experience.

That is why we must never forget.

Click here for Images from World War 1

~~~~~

flanders_field

Photo Source: http://www.wessexscene.co.uk/features

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Armistice_Day

Armistice Day (which overlaps with Remembrance Day and Veterans Day) is celebrated every year on 11 November to commemorate the armistice signed between the Allies of World War I and Germany at CompiègneFrance, for the cessation of hostilities on the Western Front of World War I, which took effect at eleven o’clock in the morning—the “eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month” of 1918. While this official date to mark the end of the war reflects the ceasefire on the Western Front, hostilities continued in other regions, especially across the former Russian Empire and in parts of the old Ottoman Empire.

Poppy

ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 2

 

 

ONE FOUR CHALLENGE – NOV WK 2

~~~~~

I am not sure where I am going or

where I will end up with this photo and challenge.

I have played around with different filters and strengths.

14-pencil

This week I decided to use the pencil sketch filter with the

strength, radius and fade options left at their default settings.

I prefer colour in images so this does not really appeal to me.

The only feature of pencil sketch filter is that it has drawn out a shape

which reminds me of sights seen back in the sixties.

 ~~~~~

Technical stuff

  • Camera: Nikon D7100
  • Lens: AF-S DX VR Zoom-Nikkor 18-105
  • Focal Length: 40 mm
  • Exposure time: 1/1600
  • F Stop: 4.5
  • ISO: 125

 ~~~~~

Robyn’s ONE FOUR CHALLENGE

onefourchallenge

 

~~~~~

 

 

 

~~~~~

 Hope you enjoy

Desert-Dreaming_1452a