Share Your World-2013-Week-41

~~~~~

If you could have three wishes granted, what would they be?

Health

Longevity

Peace in the World.  No I am not in a beauty pageant!  Just tired of the senseless loss of life and arguments between countries.  And I think somewhere in the Good Book, an era of peace is predicted after years of war.  Wouldn’t it be nice to think that that was just around the corner.  After all there wasn’t much peace during the twentieth century….maybe there has never been true peace. 

~~~~~

If you were having difficulty on an important test and could safely cheat by looking at someone else’s paper, would you do so? 

Don’t think so.  You either know it or you don’t.  And while there is a school of thought that supports the theory that in the workplace you would ask a colleague, if you are both sitting the same test how do you know the ‘someone else’ is not as thick as you.

~~~~~

If you were invisible, where would you go?

The grassy knoll.  

Go to Courcelette, circa 1915-17, to see what my Grandfather did to be awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal.

I have just realised that time travel was not an option here…blow it!! 🙂  That, my friends leaves me at a complete loss because I haven’t a clue where I would like to go…today.

~~~~~

Is life what you expected as a child?

Life is not as I expected it would be a few months ago, let alone as a child.  I grew up with manual telephone exchanges, Dad spending a whole day greasing and changing the oil the car before a long trip and the night’s entertainment was listening (yes, listening) to radio serial called “Dad and Dave”.  I never did hear the last episode because television came to our area.

 Now we take our phone with us, the car gets service less often and paper maps are no longer used when you have Google maps telling you the way.  

You can read in my ‘About’ page that I did a bit of study in the 1990s.  This study was for fun, enjoyment, personal satisfaction, and so on.  Now I am being paid to teach computers which were not even thought of in my world pre 1960.  It was all chalk and a slate at school.  The blank look on grade 3-6 kids when you tell them that was technology when I went to school is priceless.  I still shake my head in amusement when I can have an almost real time ‘conversation’ via my blog messages, or Facebook page, with someone on the other side of the world.

Who remembers, and used, the phrase/sentence:  “You’ve got as much chance of that happening as flying to the moon” .  That died a quick death, didn’t it?  About May 1969, from memory.

 

 ~~~~~

Share Your World 2013

SYW commences on Mondays-Week 41

image

~~~~~

Related articles