A Word a Week Photography Challenge ~ Herd

~~~~~

On Friday I had a 400 kilometre round trip back to my home town for a funeral.  My camera was happy to accompany me with the following results.

~~~~~

Jersey_1865

Te first herd of cattle I passed was a mixture of Jerseys and Friesians (Holstein).

~~~~~

Jersey_1866

I have always liked the head/face of a jersey cow…not sure why.

~~~~~

Friesian_1867b

These Friesian heifers were sharing the paddock with several other breeds.

~~~~~

Herd_1870

I am not exactly sure what breed the black cattle are.  Their colour says Aberdeen Angus, but their temperament (reaction to me) says they are a dairy breed of which I am not familiar.  Unless…they are black Friesians.

~~~~~

Fiesian_1872

There is always the inquisitive one……

~~~~~

bulls_1877

…and spring is in the air!

~~~~~

Herd_1968

I took this shot for two reasons.  First it is a herd of Aberdeen Angus cattle which upon close inspection are heavier boned/framed cattle than the heifers in the earlier photos.

Woolly’s useless trivia for the week 🙂

Second reason is the power line.  This line was specially constructed to carry electricity from the Yallourn power stations (east of Melbourne) to the Alcoa plant at Portland, on Victoria’s far south-west coast.  The construction crew was based in our little (Anglo-Saxon heritage) town and brought a melting pot of nationalities to our area.  Although I did not get to know these visitors as well as my father and other locals did, I do remember “Il Globo” being sold at our corner store for the two or three years.

~~~~~

A WORD A WEEK CHALLENGE–”Herd”

 (suellewellyn2011.wordpress.com

~~~~~

ileanapartenie.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

booksmusicandmovies.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

alienshores52.wordpress.com/2013/08/15/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

josephelonlillie.com/2013/08/15/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

nagpanaoan.com/2013/08/14/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

lorenesudamerica.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

mholloway63.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/a-word-a-week-challenge-the-bison-herd/

rajnishmishravns.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/herd-extended/

gitanjalisinghcherian.wordpress.com/2013/08/14/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

smallbluegreenfotos.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

msudlj.com/2013/08/13/herd/

ileanapartenie.wordpress.com/2013/08/13/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/

travellingbag.wordpress.com/2013/08/16/a-word-a-week-challenge-herd/