Jo’s-Monday-Walk_16-8_Geelong-Botanic-Gardens

~~~~~

Jo’s Monday Walk

 

Last Monday I happened upon a 

previously unexplored section of

Geelong Botanic Gardens.


geelong-botanic-gardens1_0191A bright sunny day and this track lead me to

a wetland of sorts, and also to…


geelong-botanic-gardens2_0188this sign.  I would have thought it common sense

but apparently we have to warn everyone.  

It is December, reptiles are on the move

and one was even found in a Melbourne

(Central Business District) street last week.


geelong-botanic-gardens3_0189

The hour, the heat and the sign kinda of prevented me

from wandering down his side.

geelong-botanic-gardens4_0186I took the left tun and hoped there would not

be snakes in the shadier section.

geelong-botanic-gardens5_0181

Native grasses have all seeded..

geelong-botanic-gardens6_0197

and provided some interesting compositions.

geelong-botanic-gardens7_0174

However, a stiff breeze kept all grasses moving

which made focusing difficult

 geelong-botanic-gardens8_0190

The only thing not swaying in thee breeze

was this junior pine tree.

 I wish all fellow bloggers

a Merry Christmas and

a Safe, Prosperous and

Happy New Year.

christmas_york-2016_4016

~~~~~

walking-logo

Jo’s Monday Walk

 

10 thoughts on “Jo’s-Monday-Walk_16-8_Geelong-Botanic-Gardens

  1. Pingback: Jo’s Monday walk : Boxing Day Blues | restlessjo

  2. I trod VERY carefully, Woolly! Normally I’m very carefree 🙂 Lovely shots of the grasses. Thank you so much for keeping me company and I wish you and yours a great Christmas too. Best wishes for 2017!

    Like

    • The older I get the more careful I tend to get. I still remember an 18 inch long snake coming out from under a mob of sheep I was droving. The snake was in a hurry and did not see my feet either side of it as it passed…but I can assure you I did. Another occasion while playing golf…in the rough…I happened to look behind me and saw a three foot tiger snake curled up in the August sun, with my golf buggy wheels running either side of it. I used to drag my buggy beside me, so you can imagine how close my feet had to be to the snake.

      Like

Leave a Reply

