Weekly Photo Challenge-New-Horizons

 

~~~~~

My contribution for this week’s challenge…

New Horizons

~~~~~

I have taken a fairly literal interpretation

of ‘New Horizons’ this week

as we have seen many in 2016.

mt-warrnambool_0024

This is the type of horizon I have spent

the greater portion of my life viewing.

Horizons which are miles and miles away

and which may, or may not, be dotted with

a ‘mountain’, which tops out at three to four hundred

metres above sea level.

venice_0470

So to see boats on the horizon of Laguna Veneta

at Venice, was quite unusual…

venice_0455

as was this view out of our ferry window.

I have never previously seen this view…

a cruise liner blocking the horizon.

monaco_0243

Then there were shorter horizons at Monaco…

nice-la-turbie_0804

and at La Turbie’s, Cafe La Terrassa,

about half and hour from Nice.

This horizon was only a few hundred metres from

Cafe La Terrassa.

dubai-the-palm_0636

Dubai’s horizons we beginning to resemble

that which I am used to seeing.

Although in this case I do not know of anything like

the Dubai Palm in Australia.

dubai_0383

And I confess to thinking that this scenery was for

Lawrence of Arabia type movies.

I have never seen such expanses of sand in Australian deserts,

although I am sure there are similar places.

I have worked on the edged of

the Big Desert, in Victoria

and while there was a sandy soil it was

also covered with foliage of sorts.

Now, having read the WP Challenge I may be a bit off target,

but these were my New Horizons for 2016.

~~~~~

~~~~~

 

9 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge-New-Horizons

  1. Very, very nice …. post and entry … really like you story-telling to your images. The dessert image … is my pick. Never been to Dubai, but it’s second on my bucket list. I was also of the target .. because my horizons are from the past too, but it’s a bit difficult to have images of the future horizons. You have been to very exciting places this year.
    Thanks for the support and link-up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I did not think yours off target as many others posted similar photos. I nearly always write before I visit/look at other blogs. Dubai is a fascinating place. This time of the year, winter, is best apparently. At least according to an expat Aussie who is working there. If ever you visit Dubai…schedule; afternoon or high tea at the Sky View Bar in the Burj Al Arab; a Dubai Creek Dinner Cruise; Dubai Mall Fountain; desert safari; and more time an we would have gone to the Abu Dhabi Mosque…we were told it is brilliant. Almost forgot it’s worth a view form the top of the Burj Khalifa also.

      Like

  2. Pingback: New Horizon: Spring | What's (in) the picture?

Leave a Reply

