CCYC-Wk-15-Cropping

Cee’s Compose Yourself Challenge

Week 15

Cropping

~~~~~

The New Holland Honey Eater was photographed with my

Nikon D90 and Nikkor 55-300mm zoom lens

set at 300 mm.NH-honey-eater_0025-1

This is the original, out of the camera,

New Holland Honey Eater photo.

NH-honey-eater_0025-2

Cropping to keep the whole bird in shot is

not my favourite shape of photo.

NH-honey-eater_0025-3

This is my favourite version of this image, although,

I have sharpened, or cropped it, too much.

The beak is soft and I am not sure if this is a depth of field issue

or because the beak was constantly moving.

Someone in the family was getting

a right royal telling off that day.

Dad would have said that this photo was okay

as when placed behind a piece of glass

any imperfections would be covered by the glass.

Another friend of the family would have exclaimed:

‘A blind man would be glad to see it and

a galloping horse wouldn’t stop’  

Many times I have recalled that saying…and it is so true.

wyndham_1089I was trying to capture the hand rails in this shot.

However, knees and back were not assisting me at all,

so I placed my camera on the concrete.

Camera: Nikon D90,

Lens: Sigma 50-500mm,

Focal length: 50mm,

f/11,

ISO: 200,

Shutter: 1/400

wyndham_1089aBy cropping out the first bar I achieved my goal.

 I can see this fitting into a challenge of some

description down the track.

Lions_0978

Many will guess this what this is, however,

I think it is a more interesting shot

than the original…

Lion_0978a

which leaves nothing to the imagination, except…

how did the photographer get so close.

Camera: Nikon D90,

Lens: Sigma 50-500mm,

Focal length: 116mm,

f/14,

ISO: 200,

Shutter: 1/200

 ~~~~~

CCYC: Wk-15-Cropping

CCY-Badge~~~~~

~~~~~

19 thoughts on “CCYC-Wk-15-Cropping

  1. You have some great photos. I think the resolution of your close crop of the bird’s head is to blame. I have lots of photos like that too. Which is why I rarely crop and edit to enhance my images. But that is me.

    Like

    • It’s an interesting one this shot. Not the way I took it, but because I have seen a book of bird photos where nearly all forward facing beaks were way of focus. As that photographer did, I tried to get eyes focussed but did not quite manage….or my Nikon lens is not quite up to scratch.

      Like

Leave a Reply

