Weekly Photo Challenge-Oops

 

~~~~~

My contribution for this week’s challenge…

Oops

~~~~~

My most annoying “Oops” moments this year are

due to exposure of my photos.

Sydney_0047I usually set my aperture/shutter manually and for this shot,

to expose the foreground, my camera settings were:

1/100; f/6.3; ISO 400

Sydney_0048

However, less than a minute later after

walking around the corner into sunshine,

the same settings resulted in this catastrophe.

 1/100 f/6.3 ISO 400

Sydney_0049

Altering the f stop to f/20 made the shot look a lot better.

1/100 f/20 ISO 400

These three shot were taken at

The Big Dig Archaeology Education Centre

at or near The Rocks in Sydney.

garden_7920

My other “Oops” moment is also exposure related

but caused more by swapping cameras.

 1/50 f/5 ISO 100

garden_7925

 1/160 f/13 ISO 100

I like to under expose my shots a little and tend to focus on the dotted exposure line in the view finder.Nikon-D90

http://www.imaging-resource.com/PRODS/D90/D90A3.HTM

Nikon D90 shots are under exposed when the indicators bars

are on the right of centre on the dotted line,

both in the back panel and the viewfinder.

The first garden shot was not too bad in comparison

to some on really bright days.

Nikon-D7100http://www.naturephotographysimplified.com/tips-and-tutorials/dslr-basics-8-easy-steps-learn-manual-mode-nikon-dslr-cameras/

 Recently I have picked up my D7100,

because it had the ‘right lens’ on it,

and made sure all my exposure indicators

were on the right side of zero,

with disastrous results.

 ~~~~~

~~~~~

11 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge-Oops

    • After sitting through some classes I prefer to practise, practise, practise….or maybe that should read experiment, experiment, experiment. The book is my last resort 🙂 This does result in some monumental ‘stuff ups’, but like Edison, you can always remember how not to take the next shot or shoot.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: WPC: Oops (Closed) | Chris Breebaart Photography / What's (in) the picture?

    • I used to use the automatic settings after purchasing my first Nikon but did not have the control my OM (1, 2 & 10) Olympus SLR cameras of pre-MGW days. There are some monumental stuff ups, but overall I enojy the control. Does that make me a control freak? 🙂
      This link is one of my favourite shots which now adorns our lounge room wall…if you are interested. You may not like it at all.
      http://dfcphotography.net/2015/07/16/a-new-addition-to-our-wall/
      I don’t think I could have achieved that with out using manual settings.

      Liked by 1 person

      • No I don’t think you could have without manual settings. I think it is a great photo and you have the proof that it is with it having won an award. I have an olympus and I can choose to set it manually. I think I need to start with the manual first.

        Like

      • If by manual you mean read the book, that is a last resort for me 🙂 I always try to figure cameras our without referring to the book. And Nikon is a shocker….I have purchased books at eBay which are much better. Larger font, glossy pages, coloured pictures and talk/discuss a topic on one page vs jumping from page to 25 to page 135 only to be told to go back to page 65 in the Nikon manuals!!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

